Handipets Pets In Need

VERY URGENT! – VA – SENIOR DACHSHUND IS DESPERATE!!! Senior Doxie in an empty feces covered house!

Posted in Pets In Need by handipets on April 20, 2007

*Crosspost* I got a call today from Fredericksburg ASPCA who told me that
there is a senior Doxie in an empty house in the area. Her owner was taken
to a long term care facility and will not be back home again. Her animals
were left behind alone and no family to take them in. ASPCA went to the
house on the prompting of neighbors but when they got there they only
removed the cats she had and said the Doxie looked too old and left her
behind. They have an age limit of 9 and past this they will not take dogs.
They said they have tried calling every rescue they could find and no luck
getting her help.

They happened to catch me at lunch but I work full time all week and am 2
1/2 to 3 hours from there so we are looking for heeeeelp!!! I have 10 here
now and 4 already on my intake waiting list and one special needs liver
surgery case this week but I will find a foster home for her if someone can
help rescue her. When the ASPCA officers where there they said she had some
food but no water at all and the house is covered with urine and feces.

The officers talked to the owner's family, and they want nothing to do with
the dog, and believe the ASPCA should clean up the mess in the house.. huh??

This sweet senior needs help!! She does not deserve to be left alone and in
her own filth.

*If anyone can help please call me on my cell: 804- 690-2361, or call
Melissa at the Fredericksburg, VA SPCA. 540- 373-9008.

__________________

Bren
Harmony Hounds Rescue Ranch- Jetersville, VA
www.harmonyhoundsrescue.com
www.almosthomerescue.org

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shayna H said, on May 26, 2007 at 3:59 am

    I can’t believe no one responded to your post. I did a google search for special needs dogs because I am looking to adopt a pet with special needs, and I came across this page. It just breaks my heart how heartless people can be I just started crying hysterically reading your post. I know it has been over a month since you posted this message, but if there is anything I can do to help this poor girl please let me know. I live in DC, I’m not sure how far that is from Fredericksburg, but I have a car, and would be happy to travel a few hours to save a life in need. I would’ve called you right away, but it’s almost midnight, so I’ll try calling in the morning.


Leave a comment